So I know this is a pretty popular mod to clear GE, and it didn’t strike me much except as a very feasible option to both score & suffer less – esp since I took urban geog at A lvls.

Though I read many posts about how interesting this mod is, I have to say that it left me feeling pretty zzz most of the time. Had it not been for the fact that I already kinda had some knowledge of landscapes, I’d probably just crash this mod.

sg_river2This mod is divided into subtopics e.g. heritage, migrant, geopolitical landscapes etc. Pretty intriguing; esp the landscapes like sexuality which revolve around marriage & LGBT communities etc – but then again, this kinda thing’s always been my jam. But it’s def content heavy, and the group project kills.

First up. We’re kinda just randomly thrown into IVLE like crazy pool of lost sheep, trying to find a herd. My group was kinda mehhh (god, it’s becoming a trend word for this mod) – simply because I was the rose among thorns, was elected leader for no particular reason, and we only met up like twice?? And then this guy bailed on us (yup, wise move there; abandoning a sinking ship) – but like legit no citations, no work done, nada. The only thing he accomplished was a selfie that was compulsory for the cover page. Remind me again why I love group work.

Secondly, the lectures are really kinda useless. The lecturers are quirky; Dr K is kinda brash and sarcastic, but entertaining on some days. Dr Wong’s kinda this sassy guy who has a twirly accent and mouths off so fast..it gives lightning a run for its money.

So really what I did was give up on listening – instead, I bought notes from this senior so that I could start readings early (which you should definitely consider as an alternative to the incessant rambles of professors). Moreover, I kind of just crammed my readings, case studies, etc before finals which was worth 50%

This tip is worthwhile: I totally murdered the finals paper (i’m not kidding; I wrote like almost 12 sides worth of 3 essays & they were on. point. whoo)

But. I got a B+ for the group project, which was mehhh since many other groups got the A range which was pretty disheartening. And there was also this individual project on Telok Ayer, coupled with a new app that kept crashing. This was probably the worst grade I got (6/10) because I kept selfie-ing the wrong places & lost a bunch of marks for ‘fail’ landmarks.

I think about 400+ peeps took this mod, which makes the bell curve kinda steep (esp since the content is ‘fed’ both in lectures & tutorials over and over and over)..but little is done to impart the answering techniques.

As such, I’d consider myself lucky that I managed to figure out essays (thanks to philo training) – enough for me to conquer the upper percentile of the bell curve.

Another point worth mentioning is the ultimate mehh of the T.A. She’s this nice graduate student doing a project about plantations in Indo, but she’s really really quiet and so not engaging. She tries, she really does – but to rely on her for your eventual grades is like %#nohope_notjhope

So overall, I’d give this mod the following ranking [1 being pretty light, 10 being intense]

  • Content: 7
  • Workload: 6.5 (it was like a 8.5 nearing finals)
  • Interesting: 4

Final grade: A-

Leave a Reply

